Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC)


The Nashoba Regional School District’s Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC) is a parent-led group providing support to parents & guardians of children who have an IEP or 504 Accommodation Plan.

SEPAC membership is open to everyone in the Nashoba Regional School District Community.  Meeting dates and locations are included in the Nashoba Regional School District Calendar.

To join the SEPAC mailing list, send a request to nashobasepac@nrsd.net   

We send out a monthly newsletter via email.


SEPAC BYLAWS- Click here for more information

Contact SEPAC

Co-Chairs- Kimberly Karn  and Frances Morgan, nashobasepac@nrsd.net

Secretary - Nicole Thomas    nthomas@nrsd.net

Treasurer - Kaitlyn Smith ksmith@nrsd.net


Town Representatives:

Bolton 
Florence Sawyer - Karen Yesue and Erika Elzey     kyesue@nrsd.net and eelzey@nrsd.net

Lancaster
Mary Rowlandson - Charlene Cabral ccabral@nrsd.net
Luther Burbank - Melissa Whalen mwhalen@nrsd.net

Stow
Center - Jenny Blounts jblounts@nrsd.net
Hale- Lindsey Dyda ldyda@nrsd.net

High School
Isabel Wells iwells@nrsd.net


Social Media
Facebook postings - Melissa Whalen mwhalen@nrsd.net


Find us on Facebook  (Nashoba SEPAC) or follow us on Twitter (@NashobaSEPAC)


Upcoming Events:


April 10, 2018
Topic: Social Skills Curriculum and Supports: Preschool through High School

Where: Florence Sawyer Media Center - 7:00 PM
Speakers: Valerie Beyranevand, Kristen Diggins and Danielle Deyorio, Speech and Language Therapists

Form more information Click here


Past Events 

March 22, 2018
Meeting and Co-Chair ElectionWhere: Florence Sawyer Library, BoltonFor more information- Click here

March 15, 2018  Topic: Transitioning to College for Students with Learning Differences
Speaker: Cheryl Gallaugher, NRHS educator
Location: High School, Room 216
Time:  7:00 PM
For more information- Click here   Document 2  PowerPoint

Thursday, January 18, 2018:   Topic:  Basic Rights in Special Education
Nashoba Regional High School-  Room 216 - 7:00 PM
Provided by the Federation for Children with Special Needs

Thursday, November 16, 2017 - Luther Burbank Middle School - 7:00 PM

Topic: How Are We Teaching Your Child? Co-taught math program
Speakers: Teaching team from Luther Burbank Middle School 

Last year the district embarked on new professional development to assist students in finding success in mathematics while supporting students to appreciate and admire the beauty and power of mathematics and the tools it offers.  At the same time, we want teachers (both regular and special education) to enjoy teaching meaningful mathematics in meaningful ways to all children, without exception. We want them to demonstrate their fidelity to two key objects:

(a) children—all of them realize their potential, and

(b) mathematics with rigor




Past Events:

Topic

Location

Facilitator

Timing

 

Welcome to the New District Leadership

 

Joan DeAngelis, Director of Pupil Personnel Services and Superintendent Brooke Clenchy

Tuesday,

Sept. 27th

 

at 7:00PM

Making Sense of Your Child’s Neuropsychological Evaluation

 

Dr. Joseph Moldover,

Board Certified Neuropsychologist

Wednesday, Oct. 19th

 

at 7:00PM

Understanding the Special Education Process when Your Child’s Behavior Interferes with their Ability to Access Curriculum, and/or Navigating their Social World

 

Lonnie R. Ouellette, M.A./M.Ed./Cert. BIA, Parent Ed./Behavior Specialist

Tuesday, Nov. 15th

 

at 7:00PM

Understanding Basic Rights in the Special Education Process

 

Provided by the Federation for Children with Special Needs

Thursday, Jan. 12th

 

at 7:00PM

Social Security Benefits & Employment for Students in Transition from School to Adult Life

 

Especially for parents of High School students

 

Kathleen Kelly,

Student Benefits Counselor for Mass Rehab

Click here to download lecture materials....

Wednesday, Feb. 8th

 

at 7:00PM

Transition Planning: It’s Important to Think About All the Time

See More....

Especially for parents of Middle School students

 

Cheryl Gallaugher,

Special Educator from NRHS

Click here to download lecture slides...

Wednesday,March 15th

 

at 7:00PM

How to Deal with Something You Never Planned On:A Parents’ Guide to All of the Emotions that Come with Raising a Child with Differences

 

Susan Senator, author of 3 books including Making Peace with Autism, mother of an adult son w/ ASD

Click here to download lecture details

Thursday, April 6th

 

at 7:00PM

 

Do you have ideas for topics you’d like to hear about and discuss?  Please come to a meeting or email us at nashobasepac@gmail.com.  Follow us on Facebook (Nashoba SEPAC) or Twitter (@NashobaSEPAC)